Torn-Down Tuesday: The Sample’s flagship store on Hertel Avenue

By Steve Cichon
steve@buffalostories.com
@stevebuffalo

Anne Bunis started the Sample Shop in the front parlor of her Hertel Avenue home in 1929. Soon after, her husband, Louis, had the idea to have “living mannequins” in the front window. What had been static displays had become fashion shows for passersby on Hertel.

Anne and Louis Bunis inside Samples flagship Hertel Avenue location. Buffalo News archives

Anne and Louis Bunis inside Sample’s flagship Hertel Avenue location. (Buffalo News archives)

That one house grew into a string of five houses within a decade. In 1947, the houses were torn down and the long familiar Sample store was built.

The Sample, Hertel Avenue, 1990. Buffalo News archives

The Sample, Hertel Avenue, 1990. Buffalo News archives

In 1989, as 88-year-old Anne Bunis watched her company open a store in the Walden Galleria and even as the cake was being cut in celebration of the Sample’s 60th anniversary, the end was in sight.

The 11-store chain dwindled to three, and those remaining Sample stores were ordered closed by a bankruptcy judge in 1990.

In 1993, the flagship store on Hertel Avenue was razed to make room for a senior apartment complex.

As noted in a 1990 editorial, the loss of the Sample to Hertel was as big a blow to the neighborhood as the loss of Sattler’s was to Broadway-Fillmore.

1974. Buffalo News archives

1974. Buffalo News archives

 

Published by

Steve Cichon

Steve Cichon is a proud Buffalonian helping the world experience the city he loves. writing about the people, places, and ideas that make Buffalo unique and special. The storyteller and historian has written six books, worn bow ties since the 80s, and spent 20 years working in Buffalo radio and TV, climbing his way to news director at WBEN Radio. Since then, he's been an adjunct professor, produced PBS documentaries, and even run for Erie County Clerk. Steve's Buffalo roots run deep: all eight of his great-grandparents called Buffalo home, with his first ancestors arriving here in 1827.