By Steve Cichon
The widespread removal of old steel truss bridges is one of the great landscape changes across the City of Buffalo over the last 50 years.
Those old steel spans stood as a testament to our rail and steel industries in Buffalo. Now the bridges, the trains and the coke ovens are mostly the stuff of memories.
Two old steel bridges were removed just south of the Larkin District in 1986.
This is what the street looks like now:
Further south on Seneca Street at Elk, an old steel truss bridge was replaced when a new $260,000 bridge with “shiny aluminum rails” opened in October 1959.
The bridge doesn’t look much different today, but just on the other side of the Buffalo River does.
On what has been a vacant lot now for decades, stood a warmly remembered South Buffalo landmark — a Deco Restaurant at 1670 Seneca St.